Her mind is unquenchable fire–hungry to learn and explore creative impulses fearlessly

I am really really looking forward to the CREATE art retreat in mid-August!  It has always been a dream of mine to go to an art retreat and be creative for days and days with other creatives.  When I first heard about the retreat I didn’t seriously consider attending but through a wonderful series of coincidences I am able to go!  I am going to try out as many new techniques as I can–who knows?? maybe I still haven’t found my passion.  I love paper art, mixed media art, bead stringing, embellishing, bead weaving, paint—yippy skippy!

My latest endeavor is joining the 100 days of art on the clothpaperscissors.com website.  I played catch up yesterday and made six pieces of small art–front and back and got them posted tonight.  My personal rule is that I have to use the bits and bobs and found items I’ve been stashing for a couple of years and all the left over bits of paper, ribbon, etc.   I was very excited about the prospect of doing daily small pieces of art until I sat down with the pressure of catching up and doing six pieces of art.  I realized that it was harder than I thought it would be.  A couple of the participants are giving themselves 5-10 minutes to do their daily piece and I realized I am not a fast creator!!  I had a hard time getting started.  I wanted to second guess every move and idea.  I kept thinking what the other participants would think about my creations when I posted them.  I am pretty new to the art world and I am so in awe of the artists who contribute to Cloth Paper Scissors and to enter into  the creative flow on the message boards on their site is a bit daunting.  I kept telling myself that with fear there is no creativity!  I had moments of the creativity flowing and then nothing–an ebb and flow.  I think I am going to develop a theme for the rest of the days of art.  This afternoon I went out to water my garden and picked more green beans, an onion, a jalapeno pepper and a couple of small tomatoes!  Who ever knew I would have such satisfaction and fulfillment for growing food.  I feel like it’s magic or something.  I plant some seeds and water every day and see tiny little green sprouts poking up in the rich dark earth and next thing you know I am picking an actual piece of fresh food–I LOVE IT!    Anyway–I am thinking I am going to use my garden and growing things as inspiration for my mini arts!  Speaking of that–I need to get creating tonight.  I am going to put my pics up even though I think my camera is shot.  It was getting iffy on our recent trip and now it’s like a fine gauze is permanently over the lens.  Camera shopping is definitely on my to do list.

Comments on: "Countdown to CREATE in Rosemont Illinois" (2)

  1. katyoparty… 😉 your wee works are just wonderful and lovely! sooo happy looking. 😉 i’m so glad you are playing and finding inspiration and dusting that fear bug away… in each new piece. 😉 and just like the tiny seeds you have planted in the ground… these wee works will someday blossom into a fantastic piece that you can sink your teeth into! 😉 xoxo

    • Thank you so much for your nice comment! I am trying to grow and try new things so I thank you for your inspiration and putting up the challenge!

Leave a Reply

Patsy Porco's Blog: Free and Worth It!

Humor, laughter, husbands, wives, children, family, friends, dogs, work, recreation, and everyday life.

lifebeyondmommy

A stay at home mothers guide to self discovery

Mike Deakin Art

Art Journaling, Mixed Media & Papercrafts

Diane Henders

Probably Inappropriate...

FiftyFourandAHalf

More than just another wiseass

Running on Sober

This blog is on permanent hiatus, thank you for your support.

365 Days of Bacon

Every day. Bacon-fied.

contadina k

cultivating spirit through art and craft

Craftart

Connecting to the world with crafts and art.

Junquemail Contessa

Mixed Media: Art Journaling , Textiles, Artist Trading Cards and Mail Art

busy mockingbird

a messy collection of art projects, crafts, and various random things...

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

Peach Garden

Flower Monk (花和尚的世外桃源)

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.