Her mind is unquenchable fire–hungry to learn and explore creative impulses fearlessly

Archive for November 8, 2011

Alone Time

 

 

Kusadasi Turkey

Sometimes I need some alone time.  Pretty regularly actually.  I know I’m not the only person who feels this way because I have friends who tell me they are the same way.  I can tell when I need alone time because I start to get annoyed by    every    little    thing.  I get short with people.  I find every question or comment like nails on a chalkboard.  Doesn’t matter if it’s family, friend, or foe.  I know it is time to get away for a bit.  Doesn’t have to be for long–even a couple of hours is adequate but longer is better.  I hear there are some people who don’t know how to be alone.  Maybe it has to do with your upbringing.  I’ve always been this way as far as I can remember.  I love people and I love to have fun and interact, but in between I need solitude.  My dog is allowed to hang out with me during my alone time–she actually enhances it by being generally adoring and silly and calm!

Today I am feeling like I need alone time.  I’ve been “on” for several days now and I need to be off for awhile.  My ultimate master plan is to hunker down in my art shack and immerse myself in a vat of gel medium and then roll in glitter and paint and ink.  Well, that’s my fantasy ultimate master plan…more realistically I will be thrilled and satisfied to gel medium some object and then beautify it with stuff!

Here are some things I’ve been working on lately.  Did another piece of doodle art–this time colorized with colored pencils and Copic markers and Signo markers.

 

A mixed media piece I’ve been messing with for awhile and can’t decide if I even like it right now.  Sometimes I like how things are progressing and then add another something and wish I had an undo button.

We’ll see how it looks at the end.  The last piece is a scrapbook layout.  I was completely enamored with scrapbooking a few years ago, but I’ve gotten away from it for a couple of years because I was exploring other creative options.  I’ve decided I want to do some scrapbooking lately because I’ve had so many wonderful adventures and events and memories that I want to preserve for my family in a meaningful way.

TFL!

Jane Perkins

Art to make you smile!

jibidneary.com/

A Nature Inspired Craft Blog

Margaret and Helen

Best Friends for Sixty Years and Counting...

Patsy Porco's Blog: Free and Worth It!

Humor, laughter, husbands, wives, children, family, friends, dogs, work, recreation, and everyday life.

lifebeyondmommy

A stay at home mothers guide to self discovery

Mike Deakin Art

Art Journaling, Mixed Media & Papercrafts

Author Diane Henders

Thrillers with humour and heart

FiftyFourandAHalf

More than just another wiseass

Humoring the Goddess

Croning My Way Through Life

365 Days of Bacon

Every day. Bacon-fied.

contadina k

cultivating spirit through art and craft

Craftart

Connecting to the world with crafts and art.

Junquemail Contessa

Mixed Media: Art Journaling , Textiles, Artist Trading Cards and Mail Art